5/1/16 A very quick update:

Hi, everyone. I’m not dead and the engine is still constantly being worked on. Alucard’s sheet is about 70% done which has thus far cost about $1,100 (no that is not a typo; you get what you pay for and sprite work is EXPENSIVE) so any donations would really help speed things up here. I am also working on bat form right now. Just about everything else except wolf form for him is done coding wise.

I know how panicky people get when they don’t see updates for a while, but rest assured that a LOT has been done these last few months. I just have an extremely busy schedule so I haven’t had time to update the sites with a new vid. Any free time is instead spent on working on the engine.

Stay tuned for a much larger update soon! And thanks for all your support!Β πŸ‘

DONATIONS TO HELP PAY FOR SPRITE WORK CAN BE MADE TO MY PAYPAL ACCOUNT:Β esco1979@cfl.rr.com. If you make one, please leave me a comment with your name and letting me know how much so I know who to thank.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

54 Responses to 5/1/16 A very quick update:

  1. Haditix says:

    Hi Esco! Check this out:
    https://www.youtube.com/user/rickonami/videos

    This guy could help for the intro of the game and cutscene.

  2. Apsel says:

    I just recently discovered this project and I have to say, I was blown away by the GM demo. It’s so accurate! In my eyes that alone makes you a legend. Seriously, respect. That being said I have 0 experience in Unity. Everything I know programming wise has come from using GM. Im currently using GMS. I would be willing to help but I think Unity’s programming language is RADICALLY different, not that I’ve actually tried it. Anyways, Good luck and I hope this project becomes a reality!

    • Esco says:

      Thanks for the support. It will it’s just a matter of time. πŸ™‚ GMS is like a watered down verse of C++/C#. Believe me when I say that although Unity is much more advanced and will take some time to get used to, it is a much better tool than GM overall. And since C# is an option in it (along with several other languages such as Java) you WILL learn actual programming using it.

  3. alucardspear says:

    Sorry for spamming but hey, no edit button.

    I made a mockup for what it’d look like when downscaled 2x.
    Also I mirrored the red part to match the logo’s shading, added an outline around the letters, and faded the background. Maybe it’ll look sharper with your filter.

    • Esco says:

      That looks excellent! I saw your previous post but it didn’t come with the outline around the letters or the gradient that comes with it so please send me that. Everything else I think is the same as in the previous post though, right?

      Also, send me your skype name and I will add you there. If you are going to try and help you probably want to ask me first what I need and the specifications for it. πŸ‘

  4. D says:

    is this alive?

  5. alucardspear says:

    Hi Esco since these replies take too long I just assumed a 256×240 resolution and made you a new title logo.

    GIF: https://s18.postimg.org/ayhjrax9l/2016_08_29_15_03_48.gif
    Parts: https://s17.postimg.org/64kqxqghr/sotntitle_strip4.png (256×112, 4 fr)
    Fire: https://s18.postimg.org/yxsrpsp55/chrome_2016_08_29_10_48_06.png

    Place all parts together, use a shader to replace the orange color with a fire texture.

    Or you can just erase it for a more basic look: https://s18.postimg.org/byr1xbu6h/5pice_IDE_2016_08_29_15_13_53.png

    • Esco says:

      Resolution doesn’t really matter; Unity has some excellent scaling in its engine that, used within reason, is lossless quality wise.

      That’s a pretty good logo. Though if I was going to put in a new one, I would probably go the HD route. Still, you have some novel ideas on how to make it look more aesthetically pleasing that’s for sure. How experienced are you with gfx effects in general?

      • alucardspear says:

        I’m not very good at special effects. I can’t live up to your quality standards, but I am trying.

        A more “HD” logo is in progress (I am still immensely dissatisfied with the border), although you should know that I am much more comfortable working with a smaller resolution. It’s less work and it looks more pleasing imo. I don’t understand what style you’re going for. Is it pixelated or is it HD… or a weird mix of both with some sort of blending filter? Is it even consistent?

      • Esco says:

        ……you have an obvious eye for how to improve already existing gfx effects. That is what I am interested in. Not your spriting skills. πŸ™‚

  6. Cecil Kain says:

    Esco,this is Cecil Kain, the founder of Operation Akumajo on Facebook. My community has grown by tens of thousands since the last time we talked, and I’d like to speak with you privately about promoting your SotN Hacked project when you have some time. Please contact me on Facebook. https://www.facebook.com/Operation-Akumajo-243488722337560/?fref=ts

    • Esco says:

      Hi CecilKain, it’s been a while. I appreciate the offer, but you must have missed that bit on the faq where I SPECIFICALLY mentioned not to ask to contact me thru FB. πŸ˜‰ But if you have skype, we can talk there a bit. Let me know what your screen name is on there. TTYS.

      • Cecil Kain says:

        Sure thing, my Skype name is **CENSORED** and I’m online late evenings most weekdays. I still have you on my contact list, but I never see you online anymore. Maybe it’s an older account? Anyway, I’m looking forward to speaking with you.

  7. DrROBschiz says:

    Dear Esco. Apparently the New PSVITA Hack Henkaku could potentially support Gamemaker studio exports. Could be huge to drawing attention to your project for renewed interest and talent hunting. Im waiting on confirmation that this is actually possible but could be huge

  8. alucardspear says:

    You said my old tilesets look very very cartoon, so I made more colors!!!

    • Esco says:

      Do not spam me. It was not necessary to leave 3 comments in a row like that.

      Thanks for the offer but those look like they belong in a Metroid game. Which considering the fact that you made them for that specific purpose means they fit into their design perfectly. But they just wouldn’t fit into SOTN as is. It uses a different style than SOTN does (I don’t know the proper technical term as I am not an artist).

  9. Philip says:

    Just sent $50. Not a ton, but hopefully this helps with some of the animations. This is my favorite childhood game, the one game I return to about every 3 years. I’m sold by your ideas for re-making this game. Absolutely love it, and thank you.

    • Esco says:

      Wow, thanks so much. Yeah, $50 definitely helps. I have your name in the email, so I’ll make sure to place you in the credits with anyone else who donates $50 and up. I need every little bit I can get considering that the cost for Alucard is now is at $1595. That’s not even counting the icons I had redone for him or wolf mode.

      For any other characters like SOTN Richter, Maria, etc. I’m going to have to get some kind of crowdfunding going. Not to mention for new enemy sprites as well. I think I’ve come up with a fully legal way to do it too since fan made sprites are actually 100% legal. πŸ™‚

  10. Kikkeliman says:

    How have you done the collision/attack system?

    Please do not use Rigidbody and/or CharacterController in moving creatures, instead build your own systemn and the game will feel 9000 times better. Also you can easily add more functionality and make it better suit this particular game. If you are interested check out Sebastian Lague’s 2D platformer tutorials in Youtube to get started.

    Attacks should be tied to animations. I think that it is not good to use Animator with SetBool and transitions in this kind of game, instead just use animations and play them straight. Animator works for 3D games. This is just my preference. πŸ™‚
    About hitboxes/attackboxes, you could use animation and set boxcolliders in that, because animations can do a lot more than juust playing nice sprite sequence, like disabling/enabling colliders, launching function at specific frame etc. You could also use raycasting from sword’s handle to the tip and check if it hits Enemy Layer.

    • Esco says:

      Thanks for the advice. That’s actually all useful info. It’s a shame that I’ve already done all of that using the same techniques you just mentioned. πŸ˜‰ Except for weapons. I see no reason to raycast instead of using a box collider

      I haven’t started experimenting with the enemy’s movement/collision engine yet. I may use more built in unity features for them. But the player is all custom. Unity’s built in 2d collision/movement engine is sadly still trash.

      • Kikkeliman says:

        Good to hear πŸ™‚

        One more thing, make sure to create one master script that is called something like CreatureBase, which has virtual functions like TakeDamage, DealDamage, Die, variables like string Name, int HP / MaxHP, int Mana / MaxMana, LayerMask, enum CreatureType.
        Then objects like Player would be class Player : CreatureBase etc.
        One base tag is also good, like “Creature” and instead use enum CreatureType to know what kind of Creature it is.
        That way, when making combat mechanics, you could make something like

        OnCollisionEnter(Collider col)
        {
        if(col.tag == “Creature”)
        {
        CreatureBase cb = col.GetComponent();
        if(cb.isFriendly == false)
        {
        cb.TakeDamage(dmg);
        }
        }
        }

        instead of making millions of different OnCollisions on every enemy.

  11. Nobody No-One says:

    Hey Esco, I’m a games programmer (C#/C++) with a lot of experience in unity, and with regards to 3D rendering, and other fundamental topics when it comes to coding games (physics engines, networking, AI, etc.) I can probably provide assistance with unity’s Cg/HLSL shaders. I’ve got a small amount of experience working with them directly, but fundamentally I know a lot about GLSL and most of the concepts are expansible to that, with unity’s shader system basically being a wrapper for graphical support between multiple different platforms. I can definitely help with particle effects, and probably most of the coding issues you’d come about in a project like this.

    What I would provide would mostly just be an open line for consultation, and a critical eye to look over code snippets/provide solutions. If that sounds good to you, drop me an email.

    • Esco says:

      Hey, thanks for the offer. Sounds excellent, but I don’t use email. It’s too slow for projects like this. What’s your skype name and I’ll message you there? If you don’t have one please take 5 minutes and set one up. That is how I communicate with the rest of my team. I would mostly need help with shaders. That seems to be a big sticking point for me.

  12. lv lv says:

    Hi Esco!
    I made a donation to you today!(The name should be 程?)
    I was following your project since last year.
    But I didn’t be able to donate you at that time.
    Hope this donation will be of help!
    If you are still in need of donation,I will make another one next time!XD

  13. lv lv says:

    Hi Esco!
    I just made a donation to your paypal account!XD
    The name on paypal would be 程?(Sorry I don’t know how paypal’s user name works…)
    Please have a check!XD

    • Esco says:

      Wow, thank you so much! That will actually pay for the animation I just had done for Alucard. It was for the 2nd sword attack in an aerial combo. He swings the sword back towards the camera.

      Yes, I can use EVERY donation I can get! So far redoing Alucard alone has cost me over $1300. That’s not even counting wolf form which was another $250+, but man is it worth it. He looks so amazing now I just can’t believe it.

      I’ll have to put up an update sometime soon to show people the progress on him. He really is looking awesome. Many thanks! πŸ™‚

      • lv lv says:

        Sorry for commenting so many times!!!
        I just can’t be sure whether I submit it correctly!
        Looking forward to your next update!XD

        And,actually I can do some sprite works too.
        Yet I think I’m kind of not skillful enough for not drawing dot paints so long LOL.

      • Esco says:

        Got any examples of your sprite work?

  14. Hellement says:

    Good work.

  15. DABallistic says:

    I will never stop loving this game, so take your time just to play a new version after all these years will give it the modern feel I always wanted to see. They remake final fantasy but not Castlevania. Get your license and own the game your working hard on.

  16. か says:

    Good day Esco! I hope you doing good with your game! Please check this magnificent artist https://twitter.com/VeryJerryPie/
    I recall him doing some side stuff for people recently so he might totally help you with sprites!

  17. Rhys Terkildsen says:

    Hey bud, I have 0 experience in coding, or sprite work. Just throwing out there that I have a pretty decent computer. Is there a way I can lend you my PC resources to help compile / other.
    It might be a goofy offer, but aside from the small donation I made, I can’t think of any other way I can help with this project that I am VERY excited about.

  18. alucardspear says:

    Do you need shockwave shaders? Like imagine effects like these for neutron bombs: https://i.gyazo.com/b800d862439839708846c7455d485645.gif
    Huge shockwave, burns (red-tints) everything under it with a huge heat wave, etc.
    All shader based.

  19. Shien says:

    I still believe the old alucard sprite was just fine… It would have saved you so much money and time, mainly the wolf needed changing.
    But I hope you are glad with how the new sprite is.

    **READ THE FAQ! IT CLEARLY SAYS NOT TO DO WHAT YOU JUST DID IN THE SENTENCE I ERASED**

    • Esco says:

      If you think the old sprite was fine to be reused as is, then you are wrong. Flat out. For countless reasons: 1) lack of useful animations that fit his many moves 2)it was limited to 16 colors 3)it is almost 20 years old and has been reused over and over again to death.

      If that’s not enough reasons, I could come up with a ton more. But I think you get the idea. πŸ™‚

  20. Anton says:

    Thank you for the (info) update!
    Best,
    http://steamcommunity.com/id/n-i-n/

  21. Ascender says:

    Been following since this was still just a hack for the ISO, so take your time! Can’t wait to see your progress!

  22. Jerboa says:

    Hi Esco!
    Good to see you are working hard on the project.

    Sadly I can’t donate because I’m poor game dev student, but I have experience with C# on XNA, MonoGame and Unity 5. If you have trouble with programming or need something done, I’d like to help if I can, but I can’t promise to use all of my free time πŸ˜€

    About my skill level… I have been actively programming for almost a year now, before that I had C++ basics at vocational school. I have still much to learn and hone my skills, but I’m potentially releasing my first commercial game this year during my summer course.

    PS. Are you going to release the project as Open-source when it is finished? It would greatly help many game developers, including potentially myself.

    • Esco says:

      Yes, the source will eventually be released after the game is and once development stops so everyone can rip it apart as they please. πŸ˜€

      Programming wise I can figure most things out myself (whether I am doing them in the most efficient manner is another story lol), but extra help never hurts in case I get stuck. Do you have any experience doing shaders or graphics effects/particles in Unity?

      • Jerboa says:

        Good to hear about the source, remember to but it under license so people won’t just steal it without giving credit πŸ™‚

        I haven’t done shaders, but I have done effects like afterimages, blood splatter, simple explosions etc, but nothing too complicated.

      • Esco says:

        Sorry, but then you probably couldn’t help me. Thanks for the offer, though. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

