Update 10/15: WIP sprites and some other small stuff.

The video can be found here:

Here are the 2 animations mentioned in the video:

Richter Iddle1.6 Richter walkz1.2

And here is an additional WIP concept sprite for Axe Armor Captain:

axelordarmor

Feedback is wanted on all of these sprites from fans and spriters alike, so feel free to leave a comment. I really want to know what people think of the animations thus far, and I could use some serious suggestions on how to redo Axe Armor. I will say to keep it civil if you want your comment approved as the artist who made these worked really hard on them. So let’s see some constructive criticism here guys. Enjoy.

I AM NOW TAKING DONATIONS TO HELP PAY FOR SPRITE WORK! They can be made to my paypal account to the email address of esco1979@cfl.rr.com. If you make one, please leave me a comment with your name and letting me know how much so I know who to thank.

This entry was posted in General, Maria, Player Character Info (Alucard, Richter, Sprites (enemies. Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Update 10/15: WIP sprites and some other small stuff.

  1. Brandom says:

    Hi there! Keep checking your devlog every time i replay SoTN (fan things, happens pretty much every year). I LOVE the progress that was made. But there’s things that frighten me and i wish to talk about a thing or two. I’m glad that you have high standarts and knowing that works as a reliever but what was the reason behind your decision to change already existing sprites? Alucard and Belmont’s sprites, i’m sure, will look perfectly good and fresh because their original size wasn’t touched. But item icons is a different story. SoTN spritework is the perfect example of how it should be made because it takes an ENORMOUS amount of artistic ability to be able to put soo much information in just 16×16 pixel icon. And it can actually be applied to all ingame sprites, they just work the correct way. They are compact and extrimely datailed. But resizing icons in order to make them more detailed will most likely destroy the charm of original ones because no doubt they will look out of style when you shrink them. Or they’ll be soapyfied, which is way worse. That’s what i fear about this part. Next thing i have all doubts about is blurring the whole picture – i have never seen a single thing that could look better with blur. I cry blood when i see someone playing PS1 games with 2xSal filter on. It just looks horribly bad and gross and just sucks out a healthy chunk of enjoyiment from everything it touches. I think we all love our Casltevania pixelated, so i really do hope you’ll leave an option to turn all of the blur off.
    Anyway, sorry for all this bragging, really don’t want to offend your work, i like what you do, just getting really anal about thing i love. Hope the project is coming out nicely overall🙂

  2. Drew San says:

    How is the project coming along? It’s been a while since the last update. Are you still taking donations?

    • Esco says:

      Yes and it is coming along great thanks! Alucard’s new sprite sheet is about 70% done. I do need to put up an update soon, but I really want to finish him off completely first.

      I do still take donations and could really use them. Next update I’m going to put up the total cost for Alucard’s new sprite sheet thus far too. Believe me when I say it adds up fast!

  3. I am very interested in this project… And I have a question, is this going to be a game or just an engine for making your own SoTN-like game? If it’s a full fletched remake will it include sega saturn exclusive items and areas?

  4. Deive says:

    Esco, do you still have the tutorials that you used to learn how to hack the Ps1 iso using MHS? If you have then could you send me the links? i’m trying to do some alterations in a game and can’t take well the examples set on the .LSS files of the old hack.(PS. It’s not a Cv game).

    • Esco says:

      Sorry, but if I remember correctly what you are talking about wasn’t much of a tutorial. More like a list of ram pointers specifically for SOTN that I put up. That wouldn’t help you much at all.

      All I can say is to search for something simple in the game you want to mess with (Hp, MP, etc) then go from there. I don’t really use MHS much anymore but values update in real time. So if you take something like an HP of 50, you can search for all short types (HP will usually be short nowadays, not byte format and rarely long) with the value 50. Then get hit and let’s say now you have 47 HP, so do a sub search for anything that changed to 47. That is how you will find most of the basic stuff. For more static things like equipment stats you will just have to do a search for the value in question, and when you get a large list results start changing all of them in large groups to another value, and see which of those value changes affect it. If you find the stats for one item like this you can bet the rest are very near it too. Also, I recommend epsxe, because then you won’t have to worry about the addresses constantly changing due to DMA like some other emulators use.

      For other stuff, I used PCSX’s debugger and PCSXT (it has a trace file) to follow the ASM code and see where it lead me to. This can be useful for disabling certain things in game or even changing them as then you can try to figure out where in the ISO the line of code is and just edit it as needed with something like Hexworks or 010.

  5. Lowell Adina says:

    Please Port Into The Ps1 rom ill play it on my android device thank you ^_^ more updates ive downloaded but on the zip is full of graphics and ogg i thought it is a rom hahaha

  6. LazyTurtle says:

    I don’t know if you figured it out yet, but concerning Koumajou Densetsu 2 and its relative crisp sprites, the trick is that instead of interpolating from 240p to your current desktop resolution, the game switches the desktop resolution to a fixed 800×600. Andthe game is then displayed at the double of its size (800x480p) with added black bars if necessary. You can do the same in Unity with the Screen.SetResolution command (http://docs.unity3d.com/ScriptReference/Screen.SetResolution.html).
    And then you have to change your pixelToUnit and orthographic camera size values to display the game at 2x…
    Hope it helps.😉

    • Esco says:

      Interesting. I’ll try that. What else do you know about Unity3d?

      • LazyTurtle says:

        I’m quite experienced with Unity. Actually, I’ve been using it for about 5 years. But nowadays I’m practicing more pixel art than code for game project. Something loosely influenced by the Castlevania series, but not a clone or a remake.
        Obviously, If you have any trouble or questions about Unity, do not hesitate to contact me directly by mail. Even though I must admit I didn’t really use the latest iterations of the program since the release of Unity 5, I guess I should be able to help you a bit.😉

      • LazyTurtle says:

        Oh, one last thing I didn’t make clear about the sprites in Unity: never ever use bilinear/trilinear filtering with pixel art, but always point filtering. Otherwise, you’ll only get an extreme blurriness of the graphics. The interpolation in the Koumajou Densetsu series is automatically achieved by the hardware downscaling to the low resolution used (800×600).

        Sorry for spamming the commentaries.

      • Esco says:

        Considering how useful the info you are offering is, for once I actually won’t complain about a multi-post. Yeah setting the filter setting on the sprites is just shitty like you said. It would even mess up the results of my palette shader so I just never use it. I actually tried a number of things with resolution switching like you mentioned too, but the fact is nowadays most people have HD tv’s as monitors. And taking that into account, I actually found a way to achieve a nice effect using a shader for some slight blurring along with scanlines. In fact, I actually put up a post about needing some help with modifying the scanline shader some (since I do not know CG/HSL shaders; though I am very interested in learning it) here: http://forum.unity3d.com/threads/need-some-help-writing-a-simple-scanlines-shader.375868/#post-2437306

        Any input would be appreciated. And yeah I use Unity 5.3; there is not much difference in it since the initial release of 5 really.

        BTW do you use skype? I’m not much into email; it’s too slow for communicating back and forth on things like this vs the alternatives available.

      • LazyTurtle says:

        Your shader being already in Cg format, it should be easily adapted for Unity.
        I’m currently on vacation at family folks. But if you can wait for a few days so that I could take a deeper look at it, as soon as I have some spare time, I’ll try to write a working version for Unity. But be aware that this shader is doing much more than just displaying scanlines like your current shader. So it should be much more expensive computation-wise… BTW, you can fin other interesting CRT shaders here: http://filthypants.blogspot.fr/2015/04/more-crt-shaders.html

        At the moment I don’t have Skype on my computer, but I’ll install it so that we can communicate easily. I’ll get back to you as soon as I have more spare time.

      • Esco says:

        Yeah I understand, I’ve been partying the last few days too for the holidays. Still am in fact. I’ll check that link above though. It has a LOT of shaders on it that I want to try.

        Yeah cool, message me when you get back with your skype name.

      • vinnie035 says:

        I adapted the latest version of the shader (with halation and 4 types of shadow masks).
        Just drop the folder somewhere in you Unity assets and attach the “LT_CRTEffect.cs” script to your main camera. Tweak the settings according to your needs.
        I didn’t have much time to play with it because I only have a small laptop with me, but I’ll try to tweak it a bit more as soon as I’m back home in one week. Maybe, I’ll convert more CRT shaders too…

        You can download the files here: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B8iIberpEMdwOWV4RjJrRXd0TG8/view?usp=sharing

        I didn’t have time to setup a Skype account. So, in the meantime, if you have any questions or wanna contact me, just send an email to EDITED Please don’t make this address public.

      • vinnie035 says:

        Did you have time to test the shader? After a few tweaks, I finally got back to the first shader, because you can get a nearly similar result without halation. And it requires less computation. Regarding the shadow masks, the original one (mask) is the best to my eyes. I’m quite satisfied with the result I get with my own settings. What do you think of it? Oh BTW, I forgot to tell you that I had removed the curvature effect (warp) for more efficiency and because I don’t think it is useful. I also optimized the shader by removing the rescale setting I prefer the value of 1) and replacing text2dlod with a faster tex2D (didn’t notice any difference on screen)… Just le me know if you found good settings or if you wanna my optimized version of the shader.

        You can join me on Skype at EDITED. Unfortunately my webcam is broken so I’ll only be able to communicate with instant messaging at the moment. And last thing, i’m living in France, so keep in mind that my timezone is GMT+1H.

        Now, I’m returning to my own game project… Peace out.😉

      • Esco says:

        Hi, yes I just did. Sorry about the wait, the holidays have been nuts! It gives me an error when imported into Unity: Shader error in ‘Hidden/LT_CRTEffect’: invalid ps_2_0 input semantic ‘POSITION’ at line 28 (on d3d9)

        I also sent you an invite on skype since I don’t use email.

  7. Jake says:

    The Richter Sprite is overall pretty good. I think there are a few points in the walking animation that look a bit stiff. The axe armor’s size increase is a nice addition, but I think that the shading and coloring style is too far removed from the original, and he might look a bit odd when on the screen with other sprites.

    • Esco says:

      I actually decided against this AxeArmor sprite too.🙂 If I am going to put him in game, I honestly would like something more ominous and bulky looking. Kind of like the silver horned axe knights in CV: curse of darkness with their intimidating looking design. I would envision AxeArmor to be a more physical character who uses traditional armored enemy attacks (I.E. bombs, great swords, hammers, boomerang axes, iron balls, etc.), coupled with brute strength and defensive abilities to rip thru enemies. I have pretty much come up with a full move set at this point, but he would be the 4th character I would want to do. So that would come way later.

      I did decide to move forward with this Richter sprite though, since I need one for the intro, so I really appreciate your feedback there. I’m sure it will be helpful.

      • alucardspear says:

        Hi esco it are me with another 100% custom drawn-by-me tileset for you to use: http://imgur.com/IPlWPAm

        I’m sure you’ll find a use for it like in the sewers or catacombs or in a special boss room, if you feel it lack anything I can add like backgrounds and special tiles and stuff.

      • Esco says:

        Thanks for the offer but these look too cartoony to fit into SOTN. Compared them to the other backgrounds in the game and you will see what I mean.

  8. anarkhya says:

    (Since I didn’t find any private contact form on your WP, I’m posting this in the public area, hoping you don’t mind)
    Back to 2012, I released a remade sprite for the heart refresh event in SOTN, seems it can happily suit your needs: http://anarkhya.deviantart.com/art/HD-sprite-edit-Castlevania-SOTN-Heart-Refresh-300216974

    • Esco says:

      Sure, it’s fine. Thanks for the offer, but if anything I might used this as decoration for a window or better yet, a menu of some kind. This is way too nice to be used in game for an item. The other thing is heart refreshes now instantly restore 25 hearts upon grabbing them. I’m trying to minimize manual use items so that the player spends less time in the menus, and more time playing the game uninterrupted.🙂

  9. Jason Spishock says:

    Hello,
    I’ve been following this project for quite a few years. Your goals and progress are very exciting!
    I compose music as a hobby, and if you need anything written or arranged, I might be able to help with it. I would be my great pleasure to write music for a Castlevania game!
    If you are at all interested in trying something out, please let me know.
    Sincerely,
    Jason Spishock

    • Esco says:

      Actually…. yeah. I might be. I’ve been looking to get a remake and expansion done of the mansion theme from CV2. It’s called dwelling of doom. I’m also looking for a remake of riddle from CV3 (doppleganger’s stage and also in OOE the large cavern extra stage). Send me your skype name and we can discuss it there if you want?

      P.S. If you don’t have skype, please DL it and setup a screen name since that is my only way to communicate about the engine.

      • Jason Spishock says:

        My skype account name is EDITED, or you might be able to search my full name, ALSO EDITED, to find me. Hit me up on there, I can send you a link to my soundcloud so you can get a better feel for where I’m comfortable and what I can do well.

        Look forward to hearing from you.

    • Esco says:

      Thank you for your generous offer. I have messaged you.

  10. I’d love to donate, pretty damn poor right now though. I’ll see if I can scrounge something together soon, won’t be much, but it all helps hey?

  11. abster316 says:

    What are your thoughts about creating a Patreon for similar goals?

  12. Thirteen1355 says:

    The Axe Armor new sprite doesn’t really need any criticism.
    It is simply much better than the original.

  13. Luis Carlos says:

    please, I would like to download your work.

Leave a Reply

