UPDATE 8-3: the first of many video updates

Here is the newest update about the engine; sorry about the wait, I have been meaning to put this video up for a while. I also apologize for the length because it is about 4o minutes long, but I’ve been working on a LOT in the last 3-4 months. Future videos will be much shorter and more frequent.

Feel free to leave any comments below as usual. If you feel like you can do sprites for the game, or can code shaders in Unity (using CGshader and ShaderLab language) or are very experienced with Unity and C# in general and could assist as a subject matter expert please leave a comment below and I will get back to you ASAP.

All donations can be made to Esco1979@cfl.rr.com on paypal.com.

P.S. I missed mentioning two 3d objects in the video: the 3d coffin for the trio is done, and the mist still needs to be completed (it uses mesh distortion).

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to UPDATE 8-3: the first of many video updates

  1. wendersnaven says:

    Nice work, I’m interested to see your player controller code for Alucard. Any chance you might want to share some of it?

  2. Anon says:

    I’ve been keeping an eye on your progress for many years. I still can’t wait for more. Keep up the great work.

  3. sparil says:

    I AM AN IDIOT WHO DIDN’T GET THE HINT THE FIRST TIME AND THEN CHOSE TO ASK THE SAME QUESTION FROM ANOTHER USER NAME! I AM NOW BLOCKED FOR BEING A PENCIL DICK, A PAIN IN THE ASS AND OVERALL BEING A WASTE OF A SPERM THAT WOULD HAVE BEEN PUT TO BETTER USE BY BEING GARGLED DOWN SOME HOT BLONDE’S THROAT!!!

    Read the faq; stop being annoying. This screen name is now blocked. Next time I’ll block your other one.

  4. Victor Barcellos says:

    Hi Esco, nice video. Are you using unity3d free or professional ? The game looks aweasome and i can’t wait to play it😀

  5. NickThePrick says:

    Sooo… I kind of want to help you out, but im still learning how to make pixel art. Anyways, I started remaking old axe armor sprite and this is the result. http://orig10.deviantart.net/9375/f/2015/238/d/e/axelord_armor_by_nickprick-d9776bc.png Its only one sprite but if you like it I will try to remake whole sheet and animations. It is actually bigger than the old sprite so I think of making version that is more like a sprite upgrade to the old sprite, rather than remake.

    • Esco says:

      It’s not bad; the axe needs work and the stance itself needs editing, but it’s not a bad start. It’s actually pretty damn good IMHO.

      Let’s do this: first send me your skype name on here. If you don’t have one please set one up. Second: I will put this image up for fan feedback and see what other users think of it as well.

      Even if you didn’t end up doing AxeArmor I’m sure I could find something else you could help with.

      • NickThePrick says:

        That’s great. I actually didn’t expect such a good critic being a pixel art nOOb and all that. My cam might work, but I’m sure my mic doesn’t, so I’m not sure if there would be much sense to install Skype, but okay I’ll do it. School is starting soon so I’ll most probably be only available on Saturdays and Sundays, and sometimes Fridays, but I’m good for two weeks.

      • Esco says:

        As long as you get stuff done, your personal life is none of my business and I won’t really ask about it.🙂 I have your skype name, I’ll try and message you later.

      • NickThePrick says:

        Anyways, Skype name is EDITED

      • Esco says:

        Sorry just messaged you today finally. Nikola right?

  6. Thomas Mrak says:

    Awesome! Will you be releasing any of the source so people can learn from it or mod it?

  7. jujuju says:

    Fantastic ! Great work, keep it up esco, can’t wait for the final product😀

  8. so cool bro! I saw this job since 2008! take care and keep the good job!

  9. ZE says:

    intensely enjoyed the vid, i now see all that goes into a character… it is astonishing!
    this vid certainly builds the hype, just seeing the characters in motion makes this more real, keep up the good work!

    also, i see you are looking to change things up a bit, which i find interesting, though i do have a question about the path that leads from the entry way. Are you planning on making it go to the Underground Garden from the saturn version? if so i hope it looks absolutely nothing like that one, and all the enemies are redesigned to fit… cuz…. yeah…..

    more vids please!

  10. Mat says:

    Thank you for sharing this video, I found it really helpful.
    I really liked how you manage the cameras, it looks identical to the camera in Symphony of the Night. Where can I find a tutorial of how to achieve something like that in Unity?
    Also, I want to ask you, what do you think about Unreal Engine 4?

    • Esco says:

      There is no tutorial. I just figured it out.

      I am not familiar with Unreal engine, other than knowing its 2d features were next to non-existent when I started with Unity.

  11. T. Jims says:

    Wow, this is truly a marvel to witness. You have done what so many have dreamed but have not even come close. Wish I had some means to help you but oh well, here’s me cheering you on.

  12. alucardspear says:

    How is the work flow in unity compared to GM:S? Is working in Unity as fast as it is in Studio? Is resource management (like working on sprites) good too? In Studio, I can edit sprites on the fly from within the IDE itself. Unity has some sort of complex resource crap going on:\

    • Esco says:

      It is much better in all aspects and much faster. The only issue is learning it can take a few months since it just has so many features. It does not have a built in sprite editor; but if you were using GM’s you were slowing yourself down anyway.🙂

  13. Maximus says:

    Yippee! Finally!

  14. Chad H says:

    Excited to see more of this project, been following the progress for a number of years now haha. “first of many” makes me very happy.😀

  15. Kino says:

    video is private p.q

    • Esco says:

      Fixed; sorry about that.

      • Kino says:

        Overall it kinda looks great, I wonder how would Iga feel if he saw this when it will be done. Btw do alucard and richter really need remade sprites if you’re keeping the same resolution? wouldn’t that be a waste of money? I know you want to make it not feel cheap but what I mean is that you already got some extra sprites for the old version that blend in perfectly, they would get scrapped if you got them remade…

Leave a Reply

