UPDATE: 8/9/13 – progress on the Alucard engine

Wussup peoples? It’s been about 10 days since my last update. During this time, Dengojin completed the equip screen of the start menu (which I will now need to tweak some; this will also be used for healing items and to view relics) and it looks AMAZING! He is now working on making a sprite strip of all the text I will need for the menu. I also managed to find a sprite artist named Applejack who is doing a few sprites for me, and has been doing an EXCELLENT job.
I have also been hard at work on coding in a lot more things for Alucard. Here is what’s been going on:
  • The final great sword in the game has been completed (credit goes to Applejack for completing the last 2 sprites I needed in the animation for me)
  • He also managed to do the jumping version of the uppercut animation I needed for Alucard, as well as redoing Jorge’s crouching, jumping, and falling spear animations to look even better now. With these being done, all I will need is one more 2 frame animation for when Alucard uses summon spirit/the pentagram in the air and Alucard OFFICIALLY will have all of his sprites completed (there are almost 300 of them)!
  • I completed all of Alucard’s sub weapons, EXCEPT the stopwatch (which is WIP). This includes the shuriken, summon spirit, boomerang, pentagram, bat fire, wolf’s howl, and hellfire.
  • I completed the following crashes for him: power of sire, tetra spirit, dark inferno, fire shurikens, and the flaming razorang. That leaves only Sword Brothers which is VERY easy to do (it is literally just a bunch of transparent copies of the sword familiar that fly outward)
On a side note: on the next release I will be removing the option to turn off pixel interpolation, and replacing it with an option for normal view or wide screen, for people like me who have 40 inch lcd tv’s or other similar hi end models. Considering how common place these are now, I honestly should have thought of doing that in the initial release.
More updates to come soon!
This entry was posted in Player Character Info (Alucard, Maria, Richter, etc.). Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to UPDATE: 8/9/13 – progress on the Alucard engine

  1. Inccubus says:

    You could always upscale the graphics and adjust your code accordingly. That could potentially be a lot of work. The solution I’ve used on my projects is to always use high-res proportions. It also facilitates easily swapping out graphics sets for other “graphics modes”. Sure it takes up more memory, but it keeps the lower resolution style graphics seamless.

    • Esco says:

      Lol, come on man, do you not think I thought of that YEARS ago!? ๐Ÿ˜‰ My way works WAY better for WAY more reasons than I want to list. You will just have to trust me when I say I know what I am doing. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • Inccubus says:

        I’m sure you do, bro. At least on my current hardware the interpolation isn’t that bad so I’ll deal. The game itself will be worth it even if you only get half of it done.

  2. D. Durango says:

    I can’t wait to see the new sprites up in the Deviant Art page!
    Keep up the good work!

  3. m says:

    great job ยก

  4. Inccubus says:

    Everything sounds great and I’m glad you got more help with the sprite work. However, I don’t think you should remove the option to turn off pixel interpolation. There are plenty of people who don’t have higher end displays for their machines or (like me) simply don’t like pixel interpolation for aesthetic reasons. More over, you know how I feel about taking away options from the player. More control is always good even if you don’t personally think most people will use the option. It’s better to possibly please a few users than to displease some for sure. :cheers:

    • Esco says:

      Sorry but without it on most effects look lousy, and some things that I want to do will look VERY bad in game. It is also an unnecessary option and useless; it is gone for good.

      • Spiff says:

        Could you explain more about why it looks so bad? Honestly, almost any old game from a low res system will look bad on a high resolution LCD monitor. Old games weren’t made for them.

        Can you also explain why being able to turn off pixel interpolation is an unnecessary and useless option? Many people prefer to play old games on high resolution monitors without any pixel interpolation, and instead use upscalers like the Framemeister and scanline generators to recreate the classic look.

        Anyway, I think your project is really cool and I look forward to future updates.

      • Esco says:

        Yes I can: because the internal views is 256 * 206; in GM if I make the window size anything other than a multiple of that, due to the LOUSY video scaling within the engine it looks all pixelated and distorted; effects don’t blend together properly (an example is the outline on a circle of light with opacity can be seen against the background), and things rotated and scaled just look god AWFUL! Then there is the screen tearing too…..

        Unfortunately GM doesn’t give me any video filter options to use, and everyone who is WAY more experienced than I am with it says the same thing about making some: it would be next to impossible.

        Believe me when I say I tried MANY, MANY different things; and the way I have chosen is DEFINITELY the best looking one. If you look at the demo of my engine you will see what I mean; it looks way better than the original does even with the same sprites. And it actually looks good on hi res monitors when interpolation is on.

Leave a Reply

