Redoing controls, player scripts, and the controller setup:

I knew I was going to have to do it eventually, and here we are. After learning quite a bit more about GM, I have begun refining how the controls are setup and handled in the engine. This will cut down the # of scripts ran, and make it much easier to make changes at a later date if needed.

I have also redesigned how Alucard’s scripts are ran and laid out, which will make fixing bugs, making changes, adding new things, and just editing it in general a MUCH less stressful task. I also have to do the same to Richter, but that will come after the controls are finished being redesigned.

Here is what is currently planned for the controls:

  • The current buttons are: attack1, jump, special, attack2, change sub weapon, block, extra1 & extra2 (these vary based on what character you are using), change weapon1 (changes weapon in hand1), and change weapon2 (does the same for hand2), map, and pause/menu.
  • Joystick movement is now checked via ypos and xpos values; this should enable support for using the analog stick for movement as well.
  • Keyboard and joystick controls can both be on at once now
  • Keyboard controls can now be configured in game, as can the shortcut and hotkey settings.
  • Duplicate key settings are now handled via a “swapping” method, instead of just giving an error sound when you try to exit and making you go back to change it.
  • The start screen options menu’s controls are the default ones used in the game. However, changing the controls within the game itself, will only apply that control scheme to THAT particular save file. If you load a saved game later, the control scheme is of course still saved. The default one in start screen options is only applied to new games.
  • The confirm and cancel buttons can now be set to something different besides jump (x by default) and attack2(circle by default)
  • There are now 10 hotkeys for hand weapons (5 for each hand) and 10 for sub weapons. So if you want to change either one quickly, instead of cycling thru with the change weapons 1 & 2 buttons, or the change sub button, you can. By that same token, if you don’t want to use hotkeys, and just want to use the controller, you can just use the aforementioned change buttons to do so. And of course, you can still just change weapons and subs via the menu too.
  • Holding Up + special still does a high jump, and block + attack1 still does your “charging forward” move (frenzy whip, wing smash, etc.). Block +special still does the ex version of your backstep/flip move.
  • There is no more dash since your character by default moves faster now. So double tapping forward and hitting an attack button will do that weapon’s “critical art” instead. If a weapon has two critical arts, just do a half circle and hit the attack button for the 2nd one.
  • Shortcut keys have been put in for any combinations that involve hitting block and another button for keyboard users. The reason is, some keyboards when used with GM will NOT recognize more than 3 simultaneous key presses, and some won’t recognize more than 2 with certain keys. This would obviously be an issue if you (to give one example) were in mid air steering, and then hit block and attack to do a wing smash. That alone involves 3 simultaneous key presses. The shortcut keys fix this issue, by combining the dual key press, into a single keystroke.

I could give many more details on how I programming wise I am changing things and improving them…. but I don’t want to bore you guys. Nor would most of you care about those little details. 😉

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Redoing controls, player scripts, and the controller setup:

  1. D Verbeck says:

    Where can I find a list of all the controls? I had luck with Shift and Ctrl being attack and jump, Space being back dash, and arrow keys for movement, but other than that, I could not figure the rest out. Although it has been soooo long since I have played SotN that I am not even positive if there are other controls ^^

  2. Matthew says:

    Are you planning on posting this on an emulation website? (emuparadise.org perhaps) If so I would like to know a date so I can haave something to look forward to. 🙂

    • Esco says:

      I do not plan to do so. If you want you can though. I do not have any release dates to give you though, you would get them when everyone else does on here.

  3. justaguy says:

    Hey, i was just wondering if you managed to make the practically never ending inventory space like in the original SotN. With your expertise i would imagine this would be child’s play to you. I, on the otherhand, have no idea where to start looking to figure this out. I was reading some stuff about C++ and found out about dynamic memory, which sounds like just what i need. Only problem is, i need a translation to the Game maker language. If you have time, a conceptual example of your method for the inventory system would be much appreciated. (also maybe some notes about your variables and other notable factors). Sorry if i’m asking for too much. Also sorry that i can’t help in any way, as i’m still quite a noob with game maker, I’m here for moral support if you need it though =p.
    P.S: Not that you need me to say it, but what you’ve been doing is incredible. I’ve been keeping up with your posts for a while now, and i look forward to the release of this greatly enhanced version of an already amazing masterpiece.

    • Esco says:

      The menu’s have not been coded yet. Once they have been they will be available when the next source is released, and not before. 🙂

  4. Rain says:

    Hello esco , i have a question out there its a little question will alucard be able to dash quickly like in SOTN or your gonna use the one in dos ?

  5. Hentai says:

    Hi Esco,
    Just wondering if you were planning to use Richter’s unimplemented elemental damage sprites in the final game

    http://tcrf.net/images/f/fd/SOTN-RichterFreez.png (Just in case you weren’t aware of them)

  6. orloxvk says:

    hi, I ask you this because I want to help you translating the game in spanish, I was trying to do it with the PSX game but I have some problems with the text pointers and other hacking stuff.

  7. Dengo says:

    I’ve got an idea , let me tell u it :

    example if you did alucard’s special moves with the fastest input , it will increase the critical damage 50% while adding a golden effects to alucard

  8. armorvil says:

    If a weapon has two critical arts, just do a half circle and hit the attack button for the 2nd one.

    Wouldn’t a quarter circle be better / less troublesome (a la Hadoken – from down to left / right) ? Or perhaps you did mean a quarter circle, and it’s just a typo. I just wanted to make sure 😉

  9. Someone says:

    Talking about the controls… can you please tell me how can I use the blade dash move in the last demo you released (A15 R1)? You told me to read the instructions. I did, and I didn’t find anything about the move. Actually, there’s no ocurrence for the expression “blade dash” in this blog (I tried the “search” feature). You prolly forgot to write that. Cmon Esco, just tell me how to use the blade dash move, I can’t hope to defeat Dracula in the demo without that. 😦

    • Esco says:

      1)You’re an idiot…. or illiterate… I don’t know which.

      2)Read it again.

      Seriously? Are you kidding me? Wow. This isn’t even the correct thread for this. Damn.

      BTW, any more posts by you about this get auto-deleted.Seriously, people like you scare me sometimes. 😦

  10. Dengo says:

    He’s meaning the Xbox 360 controller

    anyway GM engine support all kind of controllers , just plug your USB controller and it should work like a charm

  11. Alucard says:

    I don’t know too much about the controls but will you have support for xinput?

Leave a Reply

