Place all bug reports here! (Updated 1/7/12)

READ ME BEFORE POSTING:

This post is made for any and all bug reports; please make sure that you are playing the most current version before submitting a report, and that you have attempted to reproduce the bug at least 5-10 times. Also before posting, check the comments below and the updates in this blog post to ensure that the bug was not already addressed. You may also link to a video of recreating the bug if you don’t mind making one; if you do so then I obviously do not need you to type out the issue, but I would still want your basic system specs, and anything else relevant that I couldn’t see in the video, please.
Please not that comments in this thread will regularly be deleted once the bug is listed in the list (resolved or unsresolved) so that things just do not get too cluttered.🙂 Bugs will actually be removed from the list after a new release is put out that solves the issue. Also if you do not follow directions when submitting a bug report (listed below), or submit a post about a bug that is already listed in this blog post, your comment WILL be ignored.
 THIS POST IS FOR BUG REPORTS ONLY! NOT COMMENTS, SUGGESTIONS, ETC. ANY POSTS MADE THAT ARE NOT IN REFERENCE TO A BUG REPORT WILL BE DELETED, AND THE USER WILL BE BLOCKED. THERE IS A SEPARATE POST FOR ANY AND ALL ARTISTIC SUGGESTIONS/CRITIQUES AND IT IS FOUND HERE:

https://sotnhacked.wordpress.com/2011/11/22/artistic-suggestions-post-place-all-of-your-artistic-suggestionscritiques-here/

ALSO PLEASE NOTE THAT SLOW DOWN IS NOT A BUG! SLOW DOWN MEANS YOUR SYSTEM CANNOT HANDLE THE GAMES RESOURCES! DISABLE AND EXIT ANYTHING EXTRA RUNNING, AND THEN TRY IT AGAIN. IF YOUR GAME HAS SLOWDOWN ISSUES LIKE ANY GAME, THE MUSIC AND DIALOGUE SLOW DOWN TOO AND BECOME CHOPPY!
I have ran this game on a PC with a 2.8 GHZ Dual core CPU, with 2 GB of DDR2, and a 128 bit video card with no speed issues so this game only needs a mid level system to run right.. But if your system cannot handle the game all I can recommend is that you set interpolate colors and synchronize both to off. These may give a slight speed increase. In the future, I will probably include a FPS display option as well.

Make sure that you are using the most current release version of the engine (A15 R1) as old versions are no longer supported when a new version comes out. This is because many times I find tiny bugs on my own between releases and correct them.

Bug reports should be submitted in this format:
  1. Which version you are using (any reports from old versions will not added)
  2. If there was an error message include a copy and paste of it, or a screenshot.
  3. What you were doing, where you were doing it, and how many times you attempted to reproduce the bug and any details associated with doing so.
  4. What OS you are using (Windows 7, XP, etc.)
  5. Was it a bug (I.E. a fireball vanishes), or did the game crash (I.E. when you tried to run it windows gives a serious error message)
  6. If it is a gfx glitch please include what video card you are using as well please.

Here is an example of a great bug report:

Using Version A10 R1, when I jumped up and whipped dracula1, the game gave me an error message and crashes. A pic of the message is included below. After further attempts, I found that it crashes every time if I throw a cross first, and then whip his head as he is teleporting out. I am using windows XP.

CURRENT KNOWN BUGS LIST

1/7/12
  • FIXED BUG: if you quickly press up then down (this must be done EXTREMELY fast and with the right timing), Richter will be unable to move left and right until you whip or throw a sub weapon.
11/24/11
  • UNRESOLVED DLL BUG: When trying to run the game in windows 7 you receive this error:
    ”ERROR in
    action number 1
    of Other Event: Game Start
    for object start_and_end_game:
    Error defining an external function.”
    This is a bug in the sinbass audio DLL that VERY RARELY shows up for some people who use windows 7 when running the engine. At this time the cause is unknown by the maker of the DLL, but he has stated his desire to make it into an extension which would fix the problem.. I have also been told that running it in Admin mode may get it to work, but that it then runs slow and buggy.
    For some users when GM updates and game creator releases another version of their game, it then works, for others it does nothing. At this time there is no fix for this bug. Reinstalling Windows may help but I cannot guarantee that. If you can run XP on your machine, try that and it should work fine. Here is the thread about sinbass: http://gmc.yoyogames.com/index.php?showtopic=460201&st=60&gopid=3866947&#entry3866947
11/22/11:
  • Possible GM Limitation bug: I have been told on several occasions that surfaces (these are used for effects like the blinking overlays on Richter when he takes damage, or powers up the whip) may not show up on some older model video cards. I have tested this engine with a 4 year old card and had no issues. Nonetheless, if you encounter this bug please check the game maker forums, as I cannot assist you with it. To date, I have honestly never seen ANYONE on a PC made in the last 6 years have an issue with this.😀
This entry was posted in Suggestions and Bug Fixes. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Place all bug reports here! (Updated 1/7/12)

  1. Felipe says:

    Hello Esco!
    Well, I found a bug while fighting Dracula’s 1st form, here it goes:
    Both me and Him had almost 0 HP, so he began to attack with Dark Inferno like always, however, I got hit by a fireball exactly when I pressed jump, and then Richter rised to the top of the screen, Maria powered him up but he didn’t come back, you can still see his legs, he can walk, run, attack, but doesn’t move, it’s like he’s inside the top wall, and Dracula’s keeps attacking normally. I took a screenshot if you want to see.

    That’s all,
    and thanks for this awesome hack!!!

  2. albertbosman says:

    Error number 3 is gone. Bye, you error. The others have no solution at all, as you say.

    I’ve already tried a fresh copy of the source in a friend’s laptop and it worked great, so I’ve decided to change my computer in the next weeks. I have an Intel Core Duo (2x2Ghz) running windows 7, and this fascinating integrated card (mobile intelR 965 express chipset family AKA the HORROR) that is giving me headaches with the 90% of exisiting games in Earth. Meaning, the change is plus welcome.

    I own a professional edition of Game Maker Studio, but the source there is giving bugs mainly related with the variable_local_exists issue. Because of this, I’ve tried with the full verision of GM 8.1 and, well, here we are xD

    So, I’m really happy for hearing about the Alucard engine and the Game Maker Studio port. Anyway, the two months I have spent reading your source code had been truly a great lesson to me.

    About the prototype thing, I’ll be sending you a note to your Deviant website so we can talk from there. Sorry about any grammar issues (I’m spanish), and thank you for your time and patience!

    • Esco says:

      It’s good to hear that someone is using it. The redone one will be much more well arranged and easier to read and work with. It’s going very quickly too.

      And yes, integrated video cards are usually a nightmare. Can’t stand them.

  3. Shien says:

    I have found a bug with richter’s whip in A15R1.
    If you keep the whip button pressed and then try to run you will attack instead.
    I am playing on windows 7 in XP compatibility mode.

    • Esco says:

      I just tried this now in XP, and it doesn’t occur. And this is not the type of bug that would be OS specific (as far as I know). Are you sure you don’t have some kind of rapid fire on for the controller buttons on your pad? Or are there more details involved?

      • Shien says:

        More details indeed, I have found out that this happens only when I use joytokey to make the joypad compatible. I’m using JoyToKey Ver5.1.1
        Probably it’s a bug this program has on gamemaker. I guess i’ll have to find another solution to use my pad.

      • Esco says:

        If you are using joy to key, make sure some sort of rapid fire is not on. It could also be that you are putting in more than 2 inputs at once to the keyboard (I do not know if joy to key transfers your inputs from the pad, to the keyboard’s inputs itself or not), which cancels out the 3rd one (this happens with a good # of keyboards out there, since they were never intended for people to hold arrows with several other letter/number keys at once. Hence why in options I now put in a hotkey for when 2 keys need to be pressed at once to get around it for keyboard users.)

        Though my first question would be why in the world would you hold attack down, while trying to dash (even though during controls programming I actually focused a lot on avoiding bugs when users do this)? lol, with that being said though I really want to try to figure this bug out, even though I do not use joy2key at all.

  4. Dengo says:

    i found a bug with the controls its not that big deal i just wanted to report it to help making things better

    if you pressed UP+DOWN on the keyboard richter will get stuck and can’t move

  5. I was the one that reported having problems with sinbass and this new version works perfectly fine on my pc.

Leave a Reply

