Update: 8/9/11- The joy of duplicating the intro stages sky/water. -_-;

The last few days have been pretty busy for me, but I still managed to do quite a bit of work on the hack:

  1. Corrected several bugs that I had found
  2. Broke down all the scripts to be smaller and easier to manage, and re-arranged EVERYTHING in the source file to be easier to find and edit.
  3. Set up the script that disables certain objects when out of view so that they do not move, attack, etc. and cannot be hit.
  4. Figured out how to correct calculate out where the hit spark should be and implemented it.
  5. Implemented the hidden stairs and everything associated with it; I also corrected a bug in the original game where you could still high jump through the ceiling piece if the stairs were not yet lowered.
  6. Implemented the moon and the clock tower; their position now almost EXACTLY the duplicate the original ones in SOTN, including their parallax movement.

I have now begun the “joyous” task of trying to create the scrolling sky effect on the bottom of the screen (which might in fact just be water); and it is just not fun at all to do. I was going to try to duplicate the original one in SOTN; but to be blunt, that one just looks awful. So I am trying to come up with a new effect of some kind; but I have spent several hours on it and have had no luck so far.

If any of you out there have some artistic skills and can come up with an idea to replace the original scrolling sky/water at the bottom of the screen in the intro stage feel free to suggest it. I would be more than happy to see an example of your idea. I honestly don’t know if it is supposed to be air or water at this point.

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Update: 8/9/11- The joy of duplicating the intro stages sky/water. -_-;

  1. Jesse says:

    I have been working on a remake of this game for Gamemaker on my own and would very much like to be part of this project. I do not have the pro version so I can not work with scripts yet. There are several changes I myself would like to make to the original game and have plenty of time to work on this project. I have found myself stuck several times so I currently don’t have much progress other than Richter is almost complete basically just crashes left and the movement controls much like the orginal game. If you are not interested in my help I would at least like to ask what it would take to get updates so I can work on things on my own. Then, if you like the things I have added you can add them as you like.

  2. castlevania games usually uses a type of ripple that move the picture left-right right-left “compressing” the image a bit horizontally, I don’t know the real name of that effect, its similar to ripple effect,

  3. J says:

    Hmm, can you make it like it’s cycling around? instead of cloud going straight, it goes in circles over Dracula’s chamber

  4. Silence says:

    Que gusto que te estes tomando este proyecto enserio y cuidando muy bien los detalles.
    Yo como muchos otros estamos esperando en silencio el final de este proyecto, me gusta el sotn original pero ver una modificacion del juego que siempre he jugado y ver lugares nuevos y diferentes al original me parece emocionante. Gracias por hacerlo posible Esco!

    PD: Cuida el linealidad del juego 😉 y perdon por no aportarte nada y escribirte en español …. esta vez 😉

  5. J says:

    first thing I did was google some sprites, then I found this:

    http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/810/fog2z.png/

    • Esco says:

      Thanks, that’s very nice looking….. I saved it to my hard drive. Now I just need to figure out HOW to get it to appear like it is moving realistically. Any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

