Update: 7/1/11

Well after getting the water properly working, and figuring out how to create and destroy particles (talk about a lot of trial and error) I moved on to the following:
  1. Enabled gamepad support: this was not NEARLY as hard as people made it sound; it was in fact very, very easy. I have even figured out how to duplicate the old button config from the original SOTN. This will be designed to work with a standard 12 button controller (square, triangle, circle, x, l1, l2, l3, r1, r2, r3) with the pad or analog stick being available to be used for movement. I still have not figured out if I want to create a button config for keyboard usage too or not since the game will be designed to be played with a controller of some kind.
  2. Duplicated the view in SOTN TO THE PIXEL! In fact, while doing so I noticed that the one in SOTN might in fact be glitched. I say this because when it comes to vertical scrolling, at the top or bottom limit of the room when the view stops it will  be 8 pixels into the bottom and top tiles on screen. But when the vertical view is stopped via an in game object designed to limit the vertical scrolling in that region, it instead stops at about 12 pixels into the top block, and 4 pixels into the one on the bottom of the screen. Very odd.
Tomorrow I will be continuing to tweak the disabling of vertical scrolling (I don’t think there is a single instance in SOTN where horizontal scrolling is actually disabled, except of course when reaching the edge of a room), followed by implementing particles to be used as underwater bubbles when the player has their head fully under water, then next up is the physics on mud, and then tiles that can be stood on, but also jumped up & down thru when needed.

EDIT: update – 7/2/11:
I have completed work on the views, as well as setting up changing rooms by the player. The scripts I have for both can be used for the rest of the game. I have also arranged things better to be more easily manageable.

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Update: 7/1/11

  1. dragon says:

    Apologizes. Uhm… Ah.. I had no idea it irked anyone. Apologies…

    Yeah, keep up the good work.. : )

  2. DarkLordSoma says:

    Unfortunately man I don’t have ANY skills in ripping audio files at all… Sorry G.

  3. PingasMan says:

    At least now you will have enough experience to create your own games!

    I use multi media fusion 2 so I cant help much on programming… (also I think its a much better software!)

    But good luck!

  4. 8mike8 says:

    Apologies man

    Any new ambitions now for the reversed castle now that you have alot more control over it?

  5. DarkLordSoma says:

    Yo Esco! Are considering in using the PSP chars dialogues in your your hack because when you think about it the chars have more depth in their speeches.

    Also Serio’s Richter is missing his updated arm animations sprites for when he is confronting Dracula. Are you putting those in? Or is he going to stand still and confront Dracula?

    • Esco says:

      Old richter will be used in the intro; serio’s new one will be used for the rest of the game.🙂

      And I would be very interested in using the PSP voices for MOST characters instead of the PSX ones. But I would of course need the voices perfectly ripped or recorded from the game. Do you have them or know of anywhere where I can get them? Because if not I have no way of doing it.

  6. dragon says:

    Yeah, it would be a tragedy to have your project shut down like Square-Enix did to the Chrono Resurrection project. I’m really looking forward to playing your recreation of Konami’s game. : )

    • Esco says:

      People seriously, please stop putting up stuff about me possibly getting shutdown; it is repetitive and stating the obvious.

      Going forward, any more comments like this will be deleted, and the user blocked on the spot.

  7. 8mike8 says:

    Nice to see you’re still working on this Esco and that you’re progressing well. Shame the old system didn’t work out since you put alot of work into it. Any chance you’d look back into customizing the upside down castle into completely new areas again, like you considered with the old hack at one point, as well as redoing the underground garden and cursed prison areas?

    Careful not to get a cease and desist letter from konami by the way, I’m not sure what their policy on a complete recreation of symphony of the night might be.

    Otherwise keep up the good work!

  8. nukesheart says:

    [quote]
    I still have not figured out if I want to create a button config for keyboard usage too…
    [/quote]

    Oh please, very please, include it in this game…I am a HARDCORE keyboard gamer. And I believe many of your fans out there are like me.🙂

Leave a Reply

