Converting the project over to Gamemaker Studio:

Since I have had some free time in the last month and GM studio has now become much more stable and useable, I decided it is time to port the engine over to it. This involved not only removing any obsolete commands from 8.1 no longer supported in GM:S but also working around a great # of issues that GM:S has versus 8.1 such as execution order, me having to make my own room transition now, surfaces being handled differently, the various display issues that GM:S has (which are SUPPOSEDLY going to be fixed in the next release),  screen refresh being removed, and the countless other things that got broken in changing over to studio.

However, even with all of its issues I have to say that I am liking studio so far. The new debugger is VERY helpful, using shaders allowed me to cut out a TON of sprites, and I like the inclusion of texture pages. I am looking forward to more flash support so that I can play videos again in it, and also for native spine support which will allow me to quickly and easily design enemies like blade, gurkha, hammer, galamoth etc.

I also began working on the castle entrance which was quite a task considering that it uses 8 parallax layers, has a lightning effect in some rooms, and also has a special effect to make one of the rooms dark (which took some effort to get working right when a room transition was thrown into the mix), and that I will have to rearrange quite a bit of stuff in it. I also took care of the water in the stage and about 6 rooms in it (one of which was expanded some).

Since particle collisions no longer exist in GM:S I had to use very small basic objects for the water particles so that when they hit the water or solid ground they are removed. I also managed to duplicate the special effect from SOTN with Alucard’s water splash where if you jumped into the water in a way that part of the splash would show up over solid ground instead of water, that part would not be drawn. A very minor, but NEAT effect.

I know that all of this information doesn’t sound like a big deal to probably about 90% of you, but it took a lot of work to get this thing working the way it should in GM:S. I’m NOW looking forward to continuing my work on the castle entrance, as well as adding in the rest of the missing stuff for Alucard (in between school, work, time with my daughter., etc. etc.).  Stay tuned for more updates soon. :)

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Converting the project over to Gamemaker Studio:

  1. nagashthecursed says:

    Hi, just a little stupid question. Are you planning to release a trial version of the hack/engine just like the prologue in GM-Studio?

  2. AnotherUser says:

    Is there any way for me to get the 8.1 version of the Alucard engine? I really don’t want to move up to studio just yet.

  3. xnamkcor X says:

    Did you just use “geek” as an insult on a site where someone is modifying Symphony of the Night?

    • Esco says:

      Yup….. if you’ve seen my pic you know that the term sure doesn’t apply to me, along with a LOT of other fans. Got a problem with that sunshine?

      • alucardspear says:

        Hey, esco, can you make Sotn: Hacked actually challenging and balanced? You can always post up on this site and get people to help man we always gonna be there, I just want an open castlevania game that gonna challenges everyone!!!!!!!!!!!

      • Esco says:

        You should read the faq, or the LOOOOOOOOOOONG post I put up of my plans for the engine to get the answer to your question there.

  4. ~TBC says:

    Fantastic stuff!!! I found out about this SOME time ago and always worried it was going to die. It’s great to see a working demo out and continued work on the game!!! If you have any other mediums to follow aside from this, let me know!

    The demo was really good, too. However, certain times the FPS plummeted on me. I have a decent computer(I can run Fallout 3/NV just fine and can almost run Skyrim) so I shouldn’t be seeing an FPS drop. Not complaining, just letting you know :)

    But yeah, I can’t wait to see more videos and stuff, I’m excited to see where this is going :)

  5. commander says:

    I’M A GEEK WITH NO LIFE, WHO IS OBVIOUSLY VERY OCD AND WHO HAS NOW BEEN BLOCKED BECAUSE HE WANTS TO WHINE LIKE A LITTLE BITCH AND SPAM ESCO WITH TONS OF COMMENTS! I NOW HAVE NO CHANCE OF GETTING ANY SUPPORT WHATSOEVER, AND WILL NOT EVEN BE ABLE TO GIVE MY OPINION; AND ALL BECAUSE I WANT TO ACT LIKE A PETULANT LITTLE CHILD.

  6. TB says:

    Still following your progress. Keep it up and congrats on the daughter.

  7. Allan says:

    Congratulations!!! Keep working like way. I hope you can make it, and I want to play the game xD Good luck and I’ll be waiting =D Sorry for my english, I speak spanish =P

  8. gadesx says:

    Nice to see news! good work!

  9. Justin Slaughter says:

    Glad to hear you’ve switched to GM:S. Ive grown to like it better too. Can’t wait to see the game in action!

  10. Gergas says:

    wow man a daughter. congratulations. so by” I’m not looking forward to continuing my work on the castle entrance, as well as adding in the rest of the missing stuff for Alucard (in between school, work, time with my daughter., etc.” you mean that you will stop doing the hack by a time and come back again after a time ?

    • Esco says:

      That was a typo; it should have said now not the word NOT. I fixed it. :)

      • Gergas says:

        u.u’ thank God. i´m dying to see a video of the hard work on the dark transition on the castle entrance.Also in my humble opinion it have the best track on entire game.

  11. xnamkcor X says:

    Maybe, someday, you’ll learn how to code using a proper language. I look forward to that.

  12. Leon Belmont says:

    This sounds great! I use gamemaker myself but I’m still learning how to use it. Really looking forward to seeing how this turns out. Nice job ^.^

Leave a Reply

